As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Getting the Most out of Your Corn for you (and Your Chickens)

Back in June, I bought copious amounts of fresh sweet corn from Two Happy Children Farm at the SFC Farmers’ Market downtown. I used most of it to make Sweet Corn and Roasted Poblano Soup. Lucky for me, I saved the corncobs and placed them in a ziplock back in the freezer, knowing they would come in handy for a vegetable broth later on.  Corn was known to be the lifeblood of many Native American groups and these recipes proves that point!

This weekend at the market I bought some lovely golden summer squash and decided to make a pureed soup with my bounty. I wanted to make something healthy and delicious that I could prepare over the weekend and pop into the freezer for later in the week. It was time to use those corncobs I had so carefully saved and make a delicious, sweet broth that would form the base of the squash soup. Once again, I relied on Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone to inspire this soup.

Ingredients for Sweet Corn Broth

  • 8 corn cobs
  • 6 C water
  • 2 onions, roughly chopped
  • 6 peppercorns
  • 2 bay leaves

Directions for the broth

  1. Place all ingredients in large stock pot.
  2. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 25 minutes.
  3. Remove onions and corn cobs and place them in the compost -OR- if you have chickens, let them cool off and serve them to your chicks; they will love pecking at them.

Ingredients for Golden Summer Squash Soup with Basil

  • 1/2 C fresh basil, chopped
  •  4 golden summer squash, sliced in 1/2 in. rounds
  • 2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp white rice (I ended up using arborio rice as it was the only white rice I had)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 C sweet corn broth

Directions for Soup

  1. In a large stockpot, warm 2 tbsp of olive oil
  2. Add diced onions, garlic, basil and squash. Saute for 5 minutes.
  3. Add salt, rice and vegetable broth. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 20-25 minutes.
  4. If you have an immersion blender, you can just stick it into the stock pot and blend. If you do not have an immersion blender, use a ladle or measuring cup to place half of the contents into a blender.
  5. Blend until pureed and set aside. Repeat process with rest of soup ingredients.

I have not yet served my soup, as I planned ahead and will be freezing the soup for later in the week. I recommend serving it with a dollop of sour cream or yogurt in the middle. Enjoy!

Sauteing veggies for the soup

Ms. Chicken pecking at the corn cob

Soup is cooling; ready to store in the freezer for a quick meal!

Leave a Reply

