As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Put an Egg on It

By now, you might have seen Portlandia’s “Put a Bird on It” video. It’s pretty ridiculous. And sadly true. When I was in Brooklyn last week at a small gift store some earrings caught my eye. What kind of earrings? Bird earrings. And this video immediately popped into my head. I didn’t buy them.

Anyway, as I was making lunch today, I started thinking to myself, maybe there needs to be an egg motif for quick, easy meals–Put and Egg On it. Most Americans typically think of eggs as breakfast items, not lunch or dinner. But with the plethora of eggs I have (thank you again, chickens!), I make a lot of meals by…Putting an Egg on It. And lots of other cultures do too. I remember when I went to Ecuador for the first time and a typical meal there was rice, potatoes and a fried egg on top. And it was soooo tasty! And did you know that a popular pizza topping in Italy is a whole egg?  And think about Pad Thai–more egg. So, anyway, go ahead, put an egg on it!

Leftover rice, sauteed kale from garden w/Braggs and two of my hens eggs

Leftover rice, sauteed kale from garden w/Braggs and two eggs from my hens

Steamed cauliflower tossed with sauteed onions and garlic, freshly grated Parmesan cheese and an egg

Leave a Reply

