As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

So I’m Not Perfect in the Kitchen

I think I might be in a “culinary slump.” I’ve been cooking as often as I always do, but the things I’ve made recently haven’t been what I’d consider “blog worthy.” A lot of recent dishes haven’t turned out as well as I would have liked. Why post a recipe or experience that isn’t great, right? Well I have to say that even people like me, self-proclaimed “good cooks”, aren’t perfect.  And it’s actually pretty humbling for me to say *publically* that not everything I make turns out perfectly. In the world in which we live–complete with blogs, Facebook, Netflix, Top Chef and every other piece of media, we tend to only be shown the *wow* moments in the kitchen. I mean, who has a blog called “Crappy Cooking”? (Hey maybe I should start that…) So we look at our friends dishes on Facebook, we watch famous chefs create masterpieces on TV and we read about exotic bitters-infused cocktails in Bon Apetit. And yet it’s all skewed. Rarely are there  Julia Child-dropping-a-chicken moments that prove that everyone is human, even the most famous in the culinary world.

The items I’ve made recently that haven’t pleased me have ranged from dishes that I created to ones in which I followed a recipe: Coconut Pumpkin Soup, Bok Choi with Peanuts and Rice, Buckwheat Noodles with Fresh Greens, Baked Tofu, Radishes and Tamari Dressing, and Dried Apricot Compote and Cornmeal Olive Oil Cake.

Now, I should share that none of these dishes were un-edible. I ate all of them. But, again, they weren’t ones that I was particularly proud of because–

The Coconut Pumpkin Soup was too thick and not gingery enough; and

The Bok Choi with Peanuts and Rice was fairly bland; and

The Buckwheat Noodle Salad would have been great, but the dressing wasn’t great (which was all over the dish); and

The Dried Apricot Compote had a bitter aftertaste because I blended meyer lemon rinds into it; and finally

The Cornmeal Olive oil cake didn’t have the kick of lemon as I wanted (I only had meyer lemons; normal lemons would have been better) and it was dry, even though I baked it less than the recipe specified.

I’m human. I make mistakes. And I learn. The next time I attempt to make any of these dishes, they will be better, dammit!

I can totally relate to this–

2 responses

  1. ludlow

    Dammit Joyston – I tell people regularly how your entire SFC circle is comprised of the best (and most creative) cooks I know. I want your readers to know that everything contained in this post is a lie. …a damned lie!

    That is all 🙂

    December 22, 2011 at 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

