As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

A Taste of the Caribbean–in pictures

I recently got back from a lovely week in the Caribbean, visiting Grenada (pronounced GrehnAIDa, St. Lucia (pronounced St. Loosha), Antigua (pronounced Anteegah), St. Croix, St. Thomas, St. John and Puerto Rico. As with all my travels, I am always interested in seeking out the local fair.

GRENADA

Nutmeg Tree. Many of the nutmeg trees on Grenada (The Spice Island) were destroyed by a hurricane (forgot which one).

Nutmeg cracked open without the mace sheath around it. The yellow flesh of the nutmeg fruit is used to make jams. The actual nutmeg seed is inside the oval outer layer.

The mace (spice) sheath taken off the nutmeg outer layer.

My first local meal on Grenada: Fried fish, callaloo (Caribbean greens, basically the elephant plant leaves), a corn bread/polenta like savory cake, stewd okra and sweet potatoes and a yummy indigenous cherry juice.

ANTIGUA

Lobster bisque--definitely not creamy--but good nonetheless

Red Snapper with creole sauce and "spiced" rice

LOVED the whole cloves in the "spiced" rice

The best pina colada I've ever had

Public Market in St. Johns, Antigua

Cukes, celery, winter squash, peppers, long beans

Hibiscus buds for tea

Squashes?

Bananas!

I don’t recall the local name for this, but it’s like a chirmoya. This might have been the largest, sweetest fruit I’ve ever eaten.

There was TONS of passion fruit--my favorite!

The empty conch I found while snorkeling off a reef

ST. CROIX

Another yummy pina colada at the *Yacht Club* in St. Croix. Just practicing for when my parents get down there with their boat!

ST. JOHN–these aren’t food, but pics of sugar mill ruins

Ye olde windmill stand used for power

Remnants of copper vat used to cook down sugar
Mill was constructed of any viable building materials, including coral
PUERTO RICO

Conch salad in vinegar dressing with green peppers and white onions. Fanflippintastic!

Cerveza El Presidente (from Domican Republic). Usually not a fan of pilsner type beers, but El Pres tasted damn good. The soup is called sancocho--yam or squash-based broth with big hunks of different kinds of meat, corn, yuca. The turnover thing on the right is called a mofongo--made from friend yuca and ripe plantain. Yum!

Until next time...

10 responses

  1. Salts Kitchen

    Is the squash picture with the question mark chayote?

    December 8, 2011 at 4:58 am

  2. I was about to comment on that. It is in Mexico, but I wonder what the name is in other lands.

    I like how you ended the post with a crotch shot. Very fitting!!

    December 9, 2011 at 1:30 am

  3. Linda Casnovsky

    Wonderful pic’s of your trip! Makes me want to drop everything, sell everything & head out now .

    December 9, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  4. Noah

    Everything looks delicious!
    I’ve seen the long squash sold as opo squash around here. As I recall it’s like a bland watery zucchini squashy flavor (you can tell I’m not a fan :)). Sort of similar to cooked chayote, maybe a little less sweet.

    December 21, 2011 at 12:25 am

  5. Jason

    Is the mystery fruit called guanabana? Or… I hear it’s called sour sop or something like that in English…

    December 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    • Ooo, that might be it, Jason. But it seems like they called it something different (that I cannot remember and that I had never heard) in Antigua. Oh well, it was SOO good!

      December 21, 2011 at 7:02 pm

  6. RASHIKA

    The mystery squash is called sous sous or choko. the leaves of this plant are also cooked and eaten. Its yummy. We grow them and basically everything Ive seen in these pics, in South Africa.

    February 16, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

