As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

First Harvest of the Season

Exactly one month ago, I planted my winter garden. Today, I harvested my first greens! Today’s harvest was kind of a “forced harvest,” meaning that I had to thin out my quickly growing plants–beets, arugula, lettuce mix and dill. This week I will continue to thin the greens that I will lightly saute–Red Russian kale, Dinosaur kale, turnip greens and bok choi. Besides being so much more economical than transplants, seeds also yield more because you generally plant more than you will actually let fully mature. This makes for wonderful young salad greens that are so tender and delicious!

L-R: 2 rows of beats, turnips

Beet row after being thinned (Notice the tomatoes that self seeded between the beet rows? Will have to remove them)

L-R: Turnips and Dinosaur Kale; dill in the mid-background

Patch o' Arugula

Lovely mix of tender young greens!

The base of a quick salad with my egg (on left) and farmers' mkt egg (on right). I'm pretty proud that my egg is so deep yellow/orange! That's a sign of a WELL-FED chicken!

Leave a Reply

