As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Roasted Pears with Brie and Pistachios

If you’re looking for a recipe that wows in every way–time, appearance and taste–then I have one for you. (Oh, and did I mention this would be a great Thanksgiving addition to your table?) I got this from my December issue of EatingWell magazine, one of my favorites (and no, I’m not getting a kickback to write this!). I do recommend doubling the recipe, as these are REALLY good and it is hard to have just one half (especially if you are making it for several people). This makes an excellent side dish for brunch or a lighter meal, especially since pears are in season!

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp honey mustard (I didn’t have honey mustard, so I just mixed some honey with some whole-grain mustard)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 ripe pears (I used the Keiffer variety from Lightsey Farms, but the recipe recommends Bosc. I think you could experiment)
  • 2 ounces Brie, cut into 4 slices
  • 4 tsp chopped pistachios, toasted

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F. Coat 8-inch square or round metal baking pan (or pyrex) with oil.
  2. Whisk mustard, oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper in small bowl.
  3. Cut pears in half lengthwise, hollow out the core and slice a small piece off the other side so they will lie flat when served. Brush all over with the mustard glaze and place cored-side down in the prepared pan.
  4. Bake the pears for 30 minutes, basting half-way through with the glaze. Gently turn them over, baste again and place a piece of Brie in the hollow of each pear. Bake until the pears are tender and the Brie is slightly softened, 3-5 minutes.
  5. Sprinkle each pear half with 1 tsp pistachios.

This photo doesn't do this masterpiece justice!

Served with zucchini fritters (the last of the season's zucchini)

One response

  1. Wow! Those look incredible – I love poached pears, but this takes it to a whole new level. Yum!

    November 20, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

