As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

When Life Gives You Limes, Basil and Mint…

In case you’re living under an insulated rock, you know it’s about 400 degrees outside. Ok, just 104. But close. Anyway, it’s hot, folks. My garden doesn’t look good. I’m pretty sure the incessant heat is killing the pollen and/or blossoms as my tomatoes, peppers and tomatatillos have slowed way down. However, my mint and basil have not been phased–if anything–they are basking in this dreadful heat. So hows about a basil/mint limeade to cool off?

I got the base of the recipe from a neighborhood listserv to which I subscribe and then kinda eye-balled it from there. I love this recipe because you don’t even need a full-blown garden for some homegrown satisfaction. Herbs such as basil and mint do great in containers!

Ingredients

  • Handful of fresh basil and/or mint (stems and all)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups sugar

Directions

  1. First you want to make a simple syrup. Pour water into sauce pan and turn burner to high; add sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved (it doesn’t need to boil).
  2. Remove pan from stove and let simple syrup cool a bit, maybe 5-10 minutes.
  3. Add washed herbs and leave in for a minimum of an hour (I left mine in the fridge all day as I was going to be out and about).
  4. Discard herbs [into compost] and pour simple syrup into a (preferably) glass container. It should stay good for a month in the fridge.

To make a limeade, combine the following and serve over ice:

  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 12 oz cold carbonated water
  • 1/4 C simple syrup (more if you want it sweeter)
  • [Cachaça, rum or vodka, if you desire)

No shortage of basil or mint

 

Let the infusion process begin

 

Perfect--outside because with the heat and drought, there are hardly any mosquitoes!

4 responses

  1. I would have to make this with basil because I killed all my mint by not watering it for a few days. I grow all mine in containers. I’ll be so glad when this heat lets up!

    July 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  2. hillary

    I will have to try this recipe… sounds amazing!!! also, i dont know if you have ever tried it but in lieu of basil in pesto… use mint… it is awesome! really enjoy your blog… keep it up!

    August 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    • Thanks, Hillary! Am enjoying your blog as well! And honestly, thinking about you in this heat as 106 is probably down right cool for yall (Im sure you’ve heard about the dreadful heat in TX). And no I haven’t tried using mint, but have always wanted to!

      August 5, 2011 at 2:00 am

Leave a Reply

