As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

New Kitchen Additions

My house is only 657 sq ft, so, as you can imagine, I have to be creative in how and where I store my things. The one good thing about having such a small abode is that I cannot collect much crap (it helps that I’m not a pack rat in the least–I get this from my mom). Luckily, my boyfriend is incredibly adept at building things; I like to call him “Handy Andy.”

Being that I am avid cook, cookware and cookbooks are the few things that I do seem to collect more and more of. As you can see, where I used to store my pots and pans was not idea; in fact it drove Andy crazy trying to get anything out of that small space. So, we had the idea of (1) building a pot rack that would hang from the large beam that goes across my kitchen ceiling, and (2) making a bookshelf (for cookbooks) high up and (3) building shelves above the kitchen/prep table.

Didn’t he do an awesome job?! And all the wood is recycled–Andy got it from his buddies.

How I used to store my pots and pans--not convenient

Beam in my kitchen

Andy drilling the holes for the pot rack

Ta-da! Isn't it gorgeous!!??

Sealing the shelves

Before the shelves

Shelves are up--notice the extra long shelf right above the blender? That was custom-made for the blender!

Shelves are slowly being filled up

6 responses

  1. Leslie C.

    Oh wow! Your kitchen additions look wonderful! Can I borrow “Handy Andy” sometime?

    July 20, 2011 at 12:17 pm

  2. Susan

    Wow, these are beautiful! I agree with Mom – does Andy want to visit FL anytime soon??

    July 20, 2011 at 5:23 pm

  3. Haha! I will ask him if his schedule is free 🙂

    July 20, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  4. Vickie Howard

    Love it! Wow what an improvement and what great work ! Andy is such a great craftsmen here and did a wonderful job! Proud of you, Andy! Love to you both!

    July 20, 2011 at 10:17 pm

  5. Vickie Howard

    Took a second look and I think it is so great what you two have done with this space!

    July 22, 2011 at 12:28 am

Leave a Reply

