As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Raspberry Pancakes for the Week

Every couple of months or so, I crave pancakes. Luckily I had everything in my kitchen to whip up a batch this Sunday morning!  I even remembered I had some frozen raspberries to add to the batter! Did you know you can freeze pancakes? When I make pancakes I usually double the recipe and freeze half of the batch in servings of 2-3 pancakes, perfect for a quick weekday breakfast. Also, I’m a breakfast person, meaning, I NEED breakfast upon waking up in the morning–having pancakes already made before I leave the house for work is uber convenient.

I used the Fannie Farmer Cookbook’s recipe for Griddlecakes, but made a few changes. I also used my griddle that spans two burners, which makes the pancake process pretty easy (as opposed to using a fry pan, which is smaller).

Ingredients

  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup milk (I ended up using cream as that’s the only thing I had–yum! I did have to add a little bit of water to the mixture as it was quite thick)
  • 2 tbsp butter (I omitted the butter since I had extra fat with the cream)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup white flour (I used 1/2 white and 1/2 white whole wheat flour, both King Arthur brand)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C raspberries (I added this–you could add any berry if you want)

Pancakes on the griddle!

 

The Pancake Station

Ready for freezing

Leave a Reply

