As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Summer Squash Medley

Got tomatoes? Check

Got summer squash/zucchini? Check?

Got fresh sweet corn? Check

Then, you my friend, can make one of my favorite recipes: Summer Squash Medley. Each time I eat this dish I remember just how damn good it is.  Yes, I really mean it. It seems so simple but it really is a stellar dish with height of summer crops. Oh, and it’s from my beloved cookbook, Fresh Seasonal Recipes, from The Happy Kitchen/La Cocina Alegre.

Ingrediets

  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 medium summer squash/zucchini, cut into half circles
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 sprig of epazote
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 3 ears of fresh corn (or one 7 oz can whole kernel corn)
  • 2 jalapenos, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

Directions

  1. In a large skillet heat olive over medium heat.
  2. Add zucchini/squash, onion and garlic.
  3. Stir frequently for 4-5 minutes.
  4. Stir in cumin, salt, black pepper, epazote, corn, tomatoes, jalapenos, lime juice, sugar and cilantro.
  5. Reduce heat to low and cook slowly for 5-6 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Cover the skillet and allow the dish to rest for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Notes: Epazote is an herb used in regional Mexican cooking (especially southern Mexico). It is often used to cook beans as it decreases the gas potential in beans. You can find it at Mexican grocery stores or Fiesta (in Austin). It also grows easily (I have it growing in the same pot as my nopales). If you don’t have it, you can leave it out or add some fresh chopped basil.

 

 

2 responses

  1. Susan

    Check check check for me too! I’ll be making this soon – although I havE those funny pattypan squash (which I don’t think taste as good…)

    July 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

