As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Hot Chicks

With the daily temperature reaching 100+, my chickens look more like dogs than chickens–they pant with their mouths open and they hold their wings away from their body. Poor girls. I ended up buying a “personal mister” that I put in their chicken run. This helps lower the temperature and also moistens the dirt, making it that much more inviting for them to roll around in.

Heat stress doesn’t bode well for egg production. The two Wyandottes have not laid a single egg in about 3 weeks. Before I got the mister, the Americaunas weren’t laying much either. In addition to the mister I also started propping open to the side door to the coop every morning to create air flow in the nesting box area. Both of these changes have seemed to help, as I am now getting about 2 eggs/day. This is definitely down from the usual 4-5/day, but hey, I’ll take what I can get. Their eggs have definitely become a hot commodity now!

Remember last week when I had a broody hen? Well I ended up quarantining her in my bathroom for about 10 hours to break her “broody spell;” I had read that this would do the trick. I decided to put her in my bathtub (with food and water of course) rather than creating a separate area in the chicken run because of the heat. The next day the “spell” had broke and she was no longer broody. Good tip for the future if another gal goes broody.

The Personal Chicken Mister Set up

Staying near the mister

Side coop door propped open for better air flow

5 precious eggs

 

 

One response

  1. Susan

    I wish I hadmone of those musters! Pretty cool – and interesting that the bathtub trick worked. good to know!

    June 19, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

