As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Harvesting Shallots

This morning as I was re-arranging the soaker hoses in my garden beds, I decided it was finally time to pull up those shallots I planted (I think) in the fall. Shallots have a similar taste to onions, but are a bit milder and sweeter. According to Wikepedia, shallots contain more flavonoids and phenols (two types of antioxidents) than any other plant in the onion family. Shallots can cost more in the grocery store, but if you grow them yourself–all you need is some time, water and sweat. But not much! They grow like garlic–with a head formed from a cluster of them.  This is the first time I grew shallots, so I am excited that they were a success. I hope they taste as good as they look!

 

One response

  1. Laura King

    They do look yummy!

    June 5, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

