As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

You say Tabouli, I say Tabbouleh

No matter how you say it, it’s good. But, have you ever made it yourself? I remember when my mom first introduced it to our dinner table in my teenage years–it took a while for it to grow on me, but now I am hooked. It’s a perfect summer salad –it’s easy to prepare, stays good in the fridge for days at a time, is healthy and delicious.

I have tons of parsley in the garden that needs to be harvested–parsley will not survive long in these hot summer days. But the tomatoes are just starting; perfect timing for tabbouleh making! Bulgur wheat is parboiled cracked wheat meaning that it once was a wheatberry that was chopped up and then parboiled (like minute rice) so all it needs to do is absorb water.

To ensure that you’re tabbouleh is authentic, I highly recommend listening to the tabbouleh song as you prepare the dish.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry bulgur wheat
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • Juice of 3 lemons
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 red onion, minced
  • 1 cup packed  parsley, minced
  • 10 mint leaves, minced (OR 1 tbsp dried)
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, diced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Combined bulgur and boiling water in a bowl. Cover and let sit for 20 minutes, or until all water is absorbed and grain is tender.
  2. Dressing: Combine salt, pepper, lemon juice, mint, olive oil and garlic and mix.
  3. Add parsley, onion, tomatoes and dressing mixture to bulgur. Mix together. Enjoy!

Notes: This salad gets better with time, so feel free to double the recipe and take it for your lunch!

Bulgur Wheat--you can buy it in the bulk section

Fresh parsley from the garden

I used a food processor for the parsley to expedite the chopping

Mise en place

Bulgur wheat has absorbed water and is ready

I know what I'm having for lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

