As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Treating Myself

The new dietary guidelines advise Americans to fill half their plate with fruits and vegetables. Well, my farmers’ mkt trip on Saturday certainly is helping me to do that this week. However, what is the other half of the plate to be filled with? French toast made with TX French Bread brioche, of course! I have been craving French toast lately so when my eyes saw the brioche on at the TX French Bread table at the market, I could not resist. Brioche is a type of traditional bread in the “Viennoiserie” family–think puff pastry and croissants. Basically Viennoiserie is another name for heaven, meaning lots of eggs, butter, milk/cream and a little sugar. Ok, so I am embellishing a bit, but you get the idea of how excited I was at the prospect of making French Toast with brioche bread. If you don’t have brioche, you can still treat yourself to a lil French toast made the traditional (and economical) way with stale bread.

Ingredients: 1 egg from hens, a little bit of milk, 3 pieces of brioche, REAL maple syrup and some berries.

Merveilleux!

Leave a Reply

