As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Largest Kohlrabi Ever

While shopping at the SFC Farmers’ Mkt in downtown Austin on Saturday, I happened upon the largest kohlrabi I had ever seen. (I could hardly get it to fit in the frame of the picture!) At first I was hesitant to actually buy it, knowing that larger-than-normal veggies can often be woody, but I decided to try my luck (and because I didn’t want to turn my friend-the farmer-down). Kohlrabi is in the cabbage family and can be eaten raw or cooked. It is kind of like a turnip or broccoli stem, but with a very mild flavor.  As far as know, kohlrabi comes in two colors–purple or green (again, like cabbage). Keep tuned in to see what I do with it…

Leave a Reply

