As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

The Clear Waters of Northern Florida

Last week I had the pleasure of taking a trip to see one of my best friends, Susan, in Gainesville, FL, her new home. The area around Gainesville is, literally, teaming with wildlife and outdoor adventures. Most of Florida is atop of what is called karst topography, which is basically porous limestone (think swiss cheese) with many springs, rivers and streams above and below ground. Sinkholes are very common in Florida because the limestone can be dissolved from beneath and then –boom–the earth falls in. Luckily, I did not get sucked into one of these.

I personally think Florida’s amazing rivers and springs get overshadowed by beaches, fake blonds and Disney. As you might guess, I did not make it to Disney (though I will admit I went multiple times as a child and loved it), nor did I dye my hair blond, but I did spend time exploring the outdoors. Needless to say, I am ready to go back any time!

First picture taken on the six hour canoe ride down the Santa Fe Fiver. And I wasn't even sore the next day!

Susan and Prairie

Parking the canoe at Lily Springs

Lily Spring--The Santa Fe River is dotted with crystal clear springs. The ripples in the water are where the springs are bubbling up.

The sign reads "Naked Ed Ahead;" Naked Ed is the real life caretaker of Lily Springs and hangs out in his bday suit all day long; we had a nice chat with him.

The Rainbow River

The Rainbow River swimming hole. And no, no one dyed the water turquoise.

The water is so gorgeous! In the background is the tallest magnolia tree I had ever seen--amazing.

Picture taken from the dock looking into the water

Yours truly swimming in Rainbow Springs

Leave a Reply

