As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Menu for Week of 5/9

I found I was not cooking that much (or eating that well) for the past two months due to my hectic work schedule. Now that I do not have to work two nights a week, I feel like I have more time to cook and menu plan. Additionally, cooking from a menu plan helps to economize–something we all need!

On Saturday I bought Yukon potatoes, Blue potatoes, broccoli, bok choi and onions at Green Gate Farms, which is only about 4 miles from my house. When I’m lazy or short on time, I don’t necessarily plan what I will do with my groceries–it is more of a ad-libbed affair, which I usually am really good at. However, I had some time this afternoon to take a look at my cookbooks to (1) Try out some new recipes and (2) plan my meals for the week.

Here’s what I came up with:

Thai Fried Rice (w/ leftover tofu, cabbage; bok choi from farm)

Breakfast burritos (w/leftover tortillas, eggs from my hens and Yukon potatoes from farm)

Broccoli Souffle + Roasted Blue Potatoes (broccoli from farm, left over feta, eggs from hens, herbs from garden, blue potatoes from farm)

Red lentil and Roasted Pepper spread + Flatbread (thank you, SD!)

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup (Any left over veggies, chicken bones and meat from this blog entry of mine)

Now that I have laid out my menu plan publically, I feel a little nervous–I wonder if I really will be able to make all of these recipes according to plan?

Ready, set, go!

One response

  1. Pingback: Thai Fried Rice « joyfulinthekitchengarden

Leave a Reply

