As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Growing Lemongrass

I love cooking with lemongrass, but I have to plan ahead to cook with it as I don’t have it growing in the garden and thus have to make a trip to the store.  What about growing my own lemongrass, I thought? A quick Google search lead me to this blog post.

I bought two lovely stalks at Central Market, my favorite store at which to buy fresh herbs. I placed them in a glass jar with fresh water, which I changed every few days, and soon enough, roots started coming forming. Within 2 weeks the roots were long enough that I could plant them in a pot. (You want the roots to be about 2 inches long when you plant them.) Being that lemongrass is native to tropical Oceania, I think it will do just fine in the TX heat. Assuming it ever rains again. To read more about growing and harvesting lemongrass, see this site.

Just like a weed, the two original lemongrass stalks will start producing baby “stalks” and pretty soon I will have a nice patch of lemongrass. What will I do with all the lemongrass you ask?

Well, I like to use it in soups or curries. Or you could make a refreshing summer drink. Or you can make a curative tea out of it. A 2006 study found lemongrass to have cancer fighting properties. This doesn’t surprise me; it only furthers my belief that food should by thy medicine.

Lemongrass stalks are ready to be planted

This "mamma" stalk already has a "baby" stalk

Ta-da! My very own pot o' lemongrass

7 responses

  1. Susan

    Fun! I should do this. Glad to see the blog is back up and running!

    May 8, 2011 at 2:44 am

  2. Pingback: Thai Food–Not Just For Eating Out Anymore « joyfulinthekitchengarden

  3. berrymore84

    you shouldn’t plant two stalks altogether inside one pot as each of them can propagate and grow like a bush.

    September 25, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    • Thanks, Berrymore84, for your response. However, my two plants seem to be doing ok–at the time I only had one pot available.

      September 26, 2011 at 1:04 am

  4. Pingback: Curry Paste–Not Just From a Can Anymore « joyfulinthekitchengarden

  5. Emy

    Hi! My lemongrass already has roots now. I’m so happy. It’s still about 1cm, so I have to wait until it’s about 4-5cm. By the way, how deep do you have to plant it in soil? Thanks 🙂

    March 31, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    • Hi Emi–if the roots are 4-5 cm, just plant about 8-10 cm. Basically double the roots so that they are covered. Good luck!

      May 16, 2012 at 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

