As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Roasted Fingerling Potatoes + Left-over Homemade Mayo

As promised, here is a great recipe for that left-over homemade mayo from yesterday’s salmon salad. I remember the first time I was introduced to the combination of potatoes/fries and mayo. I was 16.  My German friend, Becky,  loved eating fries with mayo and I thought it was disgusting. And then I went to Germany and saw that this was a common thing–not just some weird habit that German exchange students pick up when living in the United States. Anyhow, it wasn’t until I had the fries and homemade aioli at Black Star Co-op here in Austin that I become a convert myself. But only with the real deal.

Roasted Fingerling Potatoes w/ homemade mayo

Ingredients

  • Organic Fingerling Potatoes
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Homemade mayo

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Wash and scrub potatoes.
  3. Cut potatoes in half lengthwise; try to make sure all pieces are about the same size so they will cook evenly; place in bowl.
  4. Toss cut potatoes with a tablespoon or two of olive oil and 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon sea salt.
  5. Lay potatoes in one layer on foil-covered baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes.
  7. Serve with mayo.

Notes: I prefer organic fingerling potatoes as potatoes are on the Environmental Working Group’s Dirty Dozen. If you are looking to maximize your bang for your buck and your health and our planet’s health, consult the pocketguide for the best produce to buy organic because of high pesticide use.

These potatoes are sure to rival any French fries or home-fries so give them a try, even if you don’t like the mayo! You may, instead, want to roast them with some herbs like rosemary, oregano or sage.

Fingerling potatoes--a little chubbier than my fingers

Tossing with olive oil and sea salt

Straight out of the oven!

This photo does not do the food justice, trust me

2 responses

  1. Rachel

    Patatas bravas a laJoy menos la brava!

    April 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  2. Pingback: Basil Pesto–Not Just For Pasta « joyfulinthekitchengarden

Leave a comment