As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

2011 Funky Chicken Coop Tour

The 3rd Annual Funky Chicken Coop Tour is next Saturday, April 23, 2011 here in Austin, TX. And your’s truly is #15 on the tour! The Tour is self-guided and features a range of different types of urban chicken coops within the City limits. Urban chicken-keeping has grown tremendously here in Austin over the past several years and this one of a kind tour is a great opportunity for those looking to start their own flock. The past two years I went on the tour, knowing I wanted chickens, so it feels pretty neat to now be one of the stars of the tour.

My boyfriend, Andy (who also built my coop; made with primarily recycled materials), my friend, Rebecca, and I will be greeting visitors and talking chickens all day from 10 – 4 next Saturday. I’ve already told the girls, so they are busy primping and putting on their best feathers.

If you are in Austin and planning on going on the tour, check out the Tour website for a free down-loadable brochure and map and much more. Also, here is the link to my personal coop video.

Hope to see you next Saturday!

My baby chicks, one week old in May 2010

Chirp chirp chirp

Pullets

All grown up

Eating their first eggs

So pretty

They love their dirt baths

6 responses

  1. We’ll be there! I’m looking forward to meeting you! We live in Liberty Hill (NW of Austin) and have 8 hens and 1 rooster… and I love talking chickens!

    April 19, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  2. The coop tour was so fun today! I enjoyed meeting you and seeing your setup! Thank you for recognizing me! I’m impressed… so explain to me how you knew I did the Citizen Gardener class? If I remember correctly, one of my CG instructors/teachers organized and built some garden boxes at your facility?

    I would love to hear more about the SFC and what you do there!

    April 24, 2011 at 1:58 am

  3. Thanks for your note! That blog post that you posted the comment on (& read) is from 2010!). After I left the comment on your blog, I realized that was where you got the info!

    I’d love to get together with you! I have a busy May and June, but maybe later this summer?

    Teri

    May 8, 2011 at 11:27 pm

  4. Pingback: 2011 Tour Buzz

Leave a Reply

