As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Cooking Millet #FAIL

Did you know that paleobotanists believe that millet was produced more widely than rice in prehistoric societies in Northern China and Korea? Reading things like this always makes me want to experiment with new grains. So today I decided to make Peasant Salad, but substitute millet for the bulgur.  I had never cooked millet, but I figured it would be easy enough like any other grain. I searched online for the proper water/grain ratio and found several; so I kinda did eenie-meenie-minee-mo and settled on a 3/1 ratio. Big mistake. I should submit my photo to the fail blog. At least the chickens got a nice treat.

Have you cooked millet? What’s your perfect ratio for a light fluffy grain like rice or quinoa? For how long do you cook the millet?

Uncooked millet

Cooked Millet Fail

 

Score for the chickens!

 

 

2 responses

  1. Linda Casnovsky

    Too wet? Too dry? No taste? What was wrong with it. Isn’t millet what we fed the bird that he liked so well—the “seed tree”?

    April 1, 2011 at 4:11 am

    • I think it was a combination of too much water/too little cooking time. I will try it again.

      And yes, most Americans know millet as bird seed, but it is a nutritious grain eaten around the world and I thought I would expand my grain horizons 🙂

      April 1, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Leave a Reply

