As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

First Strawberries of the Season

You know it’s Spring in Central Texas when the bluebonnets are blooming and there are strawberries to be had at the farmers’ market. I had about 40 minutes to grab dinner before a work training tonight and I luckily remembered it was Wednesday, which means mid-week farmers’ market. I got a bison taco and a flat of strawberries and sat in the grass at the market, listening to live music. It was nice to catch my breath before continuing my (long) workday 🙂 Since I purchased a flat, I plan to make a granita in the next several days. I will keep ya posted!

Fresh, local strawberries

4 responses

  1. Linda Casnovsky

    YUM! YUM!

    March 31, 2011 at 3:54 am

  2. Alice

    I hope they taste good. 🙂 looking forward to hearing more about granita.

    March 31, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • They are sweeter today than yesterday. I cut up a bunch to top my oatmeal and honey this morning, sooo good! And yes, excited to make the granita! (assuming I don’t eat them all!)

      March 31, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  3. Pingback: Strawberry-Lemon-Mint Granita–è facile! « joyfulinthekitchengarden

Leave a Reply

