As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Plants a bloomin’

I’m excited to report that the FREE Mexican Plum tree that I received in the fall from the Treefolks Neighborwoods Program survived the harsh winter we had and is now producing leaves! (I didn’t think to cover it, like my garden, during the snow and cold.) I had the opportunity to pick from several native varieties; I chose the Mexican Plum because of the fruit it will produce in several years!. I’m hoping that it will attract wildlife to my yard and who knows, maybe I will be able to munch on the plums too. My rose bush is also looking lovely and starting to blossom. Don’t you love Spring?!

Young Mexican Plum tree

First rose blossom of 2011

One response

  1. Rachel

    Yeah!! I just finished my seed starters for the spring. I bought a plant lamp this time, to get them going. Hopefully we are in the new house by June!

    March 23, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

