As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Maracuya/Passion Fruit Juice

Maracuya juice, or Passion Fruit juice, is my favorite juice in the world. When I lived in Ecuador during college, I would make fresh maracuya juice almost every morning with my blender, some water and sugar (it is very tart). When living in Bolivia, I drank it every chance I got—maracuya wasn’t very popular in my region, but when I went to low-lands, I loaded up on it. It is just divine.

While shopping at Fiesta grocery store a few weeks ago, I picked up a packet of frozen maracuya pulp. What the heck–might as well try it out. I thawed it out tonight, mixed it with water and sugar in a pitcher. Verdict? Of course it’s not as fresh as when I would drink it in South America, but almost.

The funniest thing to me is why I never bought this before, being that I love it so much. I guess I didn’t seek it out, knowing that at some point soon, I would be heading back to Bolivia for a visit. But, until then, I think I will keep making my maracuya juice and looking forward to the real deal in September 🙂

Mmmmm...maracuya....mi favorito

Leave a Reply

