As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Quick Garlic-Parsley-Parmesan Pasta

For lunch today I didn’t have much to choose from. I had the following restrictions: I was completely out of veggies and fruit (a rarity at my house); I had no bread, tortillas or crackers; I had been eating a lot of meat lately, so I wanted something vegetarian; I was about to head to the grocery store, so I wanted something fast, yet nutritious.

I remembered I had pasta…and a block of Parmesan in the fridge…and garlic…and my garden.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 lb pasta, any type (I used whole wheat Gemelli)
  • Real Parmesan cheese, preferably in a block (it’s fresher when you grate it right before eating)
  • One handful of fresh Italian/flat-leaf parsley (from the garden), chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Olive oil for cooking
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Really good tasting extra virgin olive oil to garnish (I used the oil I bought at Preston Vineyards from a trip to Sonoma, CA in July)

Directions

  • Boil pasta.
  • In a small pan, cook garlic in [cooking] olive oil on low-medium heat for about 5 minutes. Turn off heat and add parsley.
  • Strain cooked pasta. Add pasta to pan with garlic and parsley. Grate fresh Parmesan on top.
  • Grind pepper and salt on top, to taste. Mix.
  • Add a tad of your very best extra virgin olive oil. Enjoy!

Cooking pasta

Lightly cooked garlic and fresh parsley

Adding freshly grated Parmesan

My favorite extra virgin olive oil. It's so good I could drink it!

Ready to eat!

3 responses

  1. Linda Casnovsky

    You are amazing Joy!!

    February 22, 2011 at 4:58 pm

  2. OMGsh! I made this for my family tonight and it was so delicious! With a side salad it was a perfect meal. Light, filling and delicious! Thank you! Lori http://www.growyourgiggle.com

    January 25, 2013 at 3:21 am

Leave a Reply

