As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Chickens like Beer!

Ok, not exactly. Chickens like when humans make beer because there are left-over grains that make a perfect treat for them.

I’m a member of an Austin-based backyard chicken listserv and someone notified the group that they were brewing beer this weekend and would have lots of cooked barley and wheat that us fellow listserv members were welcome to. Luckily, the brewers were less than 4 miles away from my house. I brought my own large 5 gallon white buckets and loaded up on grain.

I brought back more than they could eat in a day, so I am keeping some of it in the fridge and some in the freezer; they will get a few pounds each day. (It needs to be kept refrigerated or frozen so as to not rot; rotting grains are harmful to chickens.)

This also got me thinking–I wonder what all the local Austin breweries do with their spent grains?

Buckets o' grains

Grains, up close

"We like...beer!"

2 responses

  1. Chris Lehr

    Glad your chickens liked it. Most local breweries get agreements with local farmers and ranchers – cows love the spent grain too!

    February 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

