As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Extreme Cold…Again

I woke up this morning to KUT’s John Aielli announcing that it was 22 degrees–the extreme cold had arrived sooner than anyone expected, including my garden. I ran outside, in my pajamas to what appeared to be frozen kale, fennel, bok choi, parsley, etc.–basically my whole garden. NOOOOO!! I worked SO hard last week to cover the garden with straw, leaves and black plastic and now I might just lose it all.

Even though the plants looked quite frozen, I decided I would once again cover up the garden with the same mixture of protective elements. The wind was blowing hard, I had no gloves on; needless to say there were a lot of four letter words involved. We’ll see what it looks like in a day or two…

Regardless, I’m thinking hoop houses next year…

Garden covered...again

One response

  1. Pingback: Tomato and Pea Seedlings UPDATE « joyfulinthekitchengarden

Leave a Reply

