As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

What do Macaroons and Mayo Have in Common?

I’ve had a hankering for coconut macaroons, so this afternoon I decided to whip up macaroons. I got the recipe from my friend, Lynda, who got it from Yahoo. I slightly altered the recipe; this is what I did.

Ingredients

  • 2-2/3 cups flaked coconut
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 egg whites *I used my chicken eggs, which are slightly smaller, so I added one more egg white to hold together the mixture
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper; set aside. In a medium mixing bowl combine coconut, sugar, flour, and salt. Stir in egg whites and vanilla extract.
  2. Drop by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart onto prepared cookie sheet. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool.
  3. Place chocolate chips in a small ramekin and microwave for 2-3 minutes, until melted when stirred. Drizzle chocolate over macaroons and let cool.
  4. Makes about 30 cookies

The ingredients for coconut macaroons

Ready to go into the oven

See how they are slightly brown around the edges? They are done!

Drizzling melted dark chocolate on top

So, what do macaroons and mayo have in common? Well, once I was done with the macaroons, I had 7 egg yolks (I doubled the recipe). I cannot stand wasting food, so I was determined to use the yolks. Apparently, so were the folks that came up with the original mayonnaise recipe, which, essentially, is oil and egg yolks. The last time I had homemade aioli was at Black Star Coop Brewery here in Austin. They serve it with their french–fantastic–even though I am not a big french fry and/or mayo eater.

Here I go–making homemade mayo for the first time–

I turned to Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. On pages 58-60 she walks you through mayo making from a to z. She also distinguishes between mayo “by hand,” “in a blender,” or “in a food processor.” Lucky me, I have all three! I thought to myself, well, since I have a blender, I might as well use it, right? Well, I neglected to use a whole egg, as she calls for, and I found that the mayo was very liquidy and didn’t really emulsify the way it should have. I still had plenty of yolks to try again, this time the more primitive way, with a bowl, whisk and my hand.

Here is what I did:

Ingredients

  • 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp honey mustard (I didn’t have dijon as the recipe called for)
  • 2 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 3/4 canola oil
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 sprigs of fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced and smashed

Directions

Place egg yolk in medium sized bowl and whisk until vigorously until it becomes thick and sticky.

Whisking eggs until they become "thick and sticky"

Stir in mustard, salt, pepper and vinegar. Whisk in canola oil by droplets until the egg and oil have begun to thicken (when one-third to one-half the oil has been added), then whisk in the remaining oil in a thin, steady stream. Add the extra virgin oil at the end.

Mixing in oil

Fresh parsley from the garden

Add garlic and parsley and stir.

Homemade mayo!

The mayo can be served on sandwiches, cooked vegetables or fish. I ate it on top of roasted Brussels sprouts I picked up yesterday from the farmers’ market (which might just win over beets as my favorite vegetable)  and grilled sockeye salmon. Delicious!

Egg yolks also make an excellent face mask, just in case you need another use for them!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Venison Sloppy Joes + Roasted Brussels Sprouts « joyfulinthekitchengarden

  2. Pingback: Roasted Beets + Salmon Salad (w homemade mayo) « joyfulinthekitchengarden

Leave a Reply

