As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Snow in Austin!

I woke up to a snowy wonderland this morning. The sun was shining and it was gorgeous! Of course I went outside to let the chickens out (and see what they thought about the snow).

 

Ms. Curious jumped onto the top of the coop, first thing

 

Slowly venturing out to check out the snow. Their water was still frozen, but I didn't given them more because they figured out they could eat the snow!

 

Dino was not a fan; he wanted to go back inside

 

My garden--covered in leaves, straw, black plastic and now, snow

3 responses

  1. Uncle Dennis

    Joy,
    It must have been very strange to see snow on your yard! I saw from the weather report that Austin fell below freezing. You Mom emailed me and told me snow was coming to your area.

    Uncle Dennis

    PS Your chicken should weather the snow. Most birds have down feathers. I just walked to, through, and back from one of the city parks here in Alma. Two ducks were sitting on an open patch of tar in the entrance driveway – probably enjoying the warmer dark tar.

    February 9, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  2. Hi Uncle Dennis,

    Yes, it was quite the site! I don’t think we’ve had this much snow since I was about 3 years old. And yes, the chickens seem to be weathering the cold much better than my plants. I do have a heat lamp, which I know they enjoy 🙂

    February 9, 2011 at 11:26 pm

  3. Uncle Dennis

    Hello Joy,

    I’m doing an instruction assigment in my technical writing class on how to start an organic garden. I mean really organic with little or no tillers – using a wood-handle, spade shovel. Do you have any photos, spading techniques, or web sites on how to start an organic garden using only a spade and a rake?

    If I think about gardening long enough maybe spring will arrive!

    Uncle,
    Dennis

    March 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

