As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Ticket to Bolivia!

It’s confirmed–I will be visiting Bolivia in the fall! The last time I went to visit was December of 2008; it’s hard to believe it will have been almost three years. I am looking forward to seeing my ahijado, Jesus, who turns 13 on February 6th. I know he’s “growing like a weed” and I can definitely tell his voice has changed when we chat on the phone monthly.

I also look forward to seeing my good gal pal, Sandra and her family and Yasmani and his family in Santa Cruz as well as friends in Vallegrande and of course the Hogar where I served as an Environmental Education Volunteer in the Peace Corps from 2005-2007.

There is a possibility I might take Jesus to La Paz (as I had planned in 2008 before getting caught in landslides); I’d love for Jesus to conocer more of his country. I also have a fellow Peace Corps friend living in La Paz, so that makes it even more of an incentive to visit the city that sits at 12,000 ft.

One thing that I am definitely not going to miss are the landslides. I will not be visiting during the rainy seasons, but there probably will be chaqueos. After the dry season and before the wet season, campesinos burn their fields, so there tends to be lots of smoke in the sky.

And my mouth is already watering for Horno Caliente–my favorite bakery in Santa Cruz with tea-time savory masitas like sonzo, empanada, cunape and humita. Yum!

Jesus and I after surviving the landslide Christmas 2008.

 

 

Masitas at Horno Caliente

 

3 responses

  1. Linda Casnovsky

    I love your new blog—the photos are great & so is the content.

    Mom

    February 2, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  2. Helen

    Great news! Great photo! I’ll be there this summer, but looks like I’ll miss you. Send my saludos to Jesus! Un abrazo fuerte! -Helen

    February 7, 2011 at 5:42 am

  3. @ Helen,

    I was originally planning to go in June, but the ticket was half as much (using free miles) if I went in Sept., so I changed it. Sorry that I am going to miss you 😦

    What will you be in doing there in the summer? Visiting or working?

    February 7, 2011 at 5:55 am

Leave a Reply

