As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

Do Chickens Really Squawk After They Lay?

Yes. They really do, apparently. On Sunday afternoon I was inside and all of a sudden I heard one of the hens start squawking loudly. I went outside to investigate and saw that she was walking down from the roost. I opened up the nesting box and sure enough, there was a greenish/grey egg (her color egg) sitting there and it was warm.

I knew she was about to lay an egg because about 30 minutes before I had opened the nesting box to collect eggs and there were none, but she was sitting there in “egg laying position”.

The reason for all the squawking (the hen here is not the one who laid it)

Ms. Hen continues to squawk

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers